The 7 Chakra Mandalas

root chakra mandalaRoot Chakra Mandala – Self-preservation

20×20 cm, colored pencils 2008

Muladhara or root chakra is symbolized by a lotus with four petals and the color red. This center is located at the base of the spine in the coccygeal region. Muladhara is related to instinct, security, survival and also to basic human potentiality. Physically, Muladhara governs sexuality, mentally it governs stability, emotionally it governs sensuality, and spiritually it governs a sense of security.

sacral chakra mandalaSacral Chakra Mandala – Self-gratification

20×20 cm, colored pencils 2008

Swadhisthana is symbolized by a white lotus within which is a crescent moon, with six vermillion, or orange petals. The Sacral Chakra is located in the sacrum (hence the name). The key issues involving Swadisthana are relationships, violence, addictions, basic emotional needs, and pleasure. Physically, Swadisthana governs reproduction, mentally it governs creativity, emotionally it governs joy, and spiritually it governs enthusiasm.

solar plexus mandalaSolar Plexus Mandala – Self-definition

20×20 cm, colored pencils 2008

The solar plexus mandala – Manipura is symbolized by a downward pointing triangle with ten petals. The color that corresponds to Manipura is yellow. Key issues governed by Manipura are issues of personal power, fear, anxiety, opinion-formation, introversion, and transition from simple or base emotions to complex. Physically, Manipura governs digestion, mentally it governs personal power, emotionally it governs expansiveness, and spiritually, all matters of growth.

heart chakra mandalaHearth Chakra Mandala – Self-acceptance

20×20 cm, colored pencils 2008

Heart Chakra mandala – Anahata is symbolized by a circular flower with twelve green petals. Within it is a yantra of two intersecting triangles, symbolizing a union of the male and female. Anahata is related to the colors green or pink. Key issues involving Anahata are complex emotions, compassion, tenderness, unconditional love, rejection and well-being. Physically Anahata governs circulation, emotionally unconditional love, mentally it governs passion, and spiritually it governs devotion.

throat chakra mandalaThroat Chakra Mandala – Self-expression

20×20 cm, colored pencils 2008

Throat chakra mandala – Vishuddha is depicted as a silver crescent within a white circle, with 16 light or pale blue, or turquoise petals. It may be understood as relating to communication and growth through expression. Physically, Vishuddha governs communication, emotionally it governs independence, mentally it governs fluent thought, and spiritually, it governs a sense of security.

third eye mandalaThird eye Chakra Mandala – Self-reflection

Third eye mandala – Ajna is symbolized by a lotus with two petals, and corresponds to the colors violet, indigo or deep blue. Ajna’s key issues involve balancing the higher and lower selves and trusting inner guidance. Ajna’s inner aspect relates to the access of intuition. Mentally, Ajna deals with visual consciousness. Emotionally, Ajna deals with clarity on an intuitive level.

crown chakraCrown Chakra Mandala – Self-knowledge

20×20 cm, colored pencils 2008

Crown chakra mandala – Sahasrara, which means 1000 petaled lotus, is generally considered to be the chakra of pure consciousness, within which there is neither object nor subject. it is located either at the crown of the head, or above the crown of the head. Sahasrara is represented by the color white and it involves such issues as inner wisdom and the death of the body.